LibGuides: SAS Middle School Library: Disaster Relief and Inventions

Natural Disaster Resources

NATURAL DISASTERS THAT AFFECT THE WORLD!!!
What are natural disasters? Click on the article above to learn more!
Natural Disasters Library book collection.
Click on this list to access some of our titles located in the Collaboration side.

Innovations that aid in Natural Disasters. CLICK ON THE IMAGES BELOW TO LEARN MORE

Check out this cool concept!

Relief Organizations: Learn about actions these organizations take before, during and after disasters

Earthquake Relief
Your support enables the global Red Cross network to deliver lifesaving aid and the vital help communities need to rebuild lives.
Red Cross Singapore
Singapore Red Cross helps communities recover from natural disasters and build resilience during peacetime. We go beyond our shores to bring humanitarian aid to those in need.
American Red Cross
We're there when people need us most
Our purpose is to meet the immediate disaster-caused needs of individuals, families, and communities. Explore how we respond to disasters big and small, across the country.
Disasters & Assistance
Disasters can come in many forms. FEMA responds to all declared domestic disasters and emergencies, whether natural or man-made.
Doctors Without Borders
We provide independent, impartial medical humanitarian assistance to the people who need it most.
World Food Programme
WFP programmes not only provide assistance in emergencies to meet immediate food and nutrition needs, but they also support communities to build resilience in the long-term by addressing the root causes of hunger. By combining humanitarian assistance seamlessly with investment in resilience-based activities, we can break the recurring cycle of crisis and response and empower people to build a more prosperous future.
International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
The IFRC acts before, during and after disasters and health emergencies to meet the needs and improve the lives of vulnerable people.
ShelterBox
ShelterBox is working to change this. By providing emergency shelter and tools for families robbed of their homes by disaster, we’re transforming despair into hope.
Direct Relief
Mission: Improving the health and lives of people affected by poverty and emergencies - without regard to politics, religion, or ability to pay.
The International Rescue Committee (IRC)
The International Rescue Committee (IRC) helps people affected by humanitarian crises—including the climate crisis—to survive, recover and rebuild their lives.
Mercy Corps
Mercy Corps works to achieve a real and lasting impact in the world’s toughest humanitarian emergencies. We’ve responded to almost every global natural disaster in the last 20 years, including the Nepal earthquake, the hunger crisis in the Horn of Africa, the Indian Ocean tsunami and Hurricane Dorian in the Bahamas. We’re also in places like Liberia and the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) where we’ve helped contain the Ebola epidemic.
Asian Disaster Preparedness Center
The Preparedness for Response and Recovery department of ADPC focuses on enhancing the response management capacities of governments, response organizations, volunteers, and communities. It also strives to strengthen the capacity of institutions for faster and efficient disaster recovery. The department works with governments, the private sector, and local humanitarian organizations to ensure that local and national disaster response and recovery frameworks and implementation plans are in place well before disaster strikes.
Japan Platform
To contribute to the creation of a peaceful society as a member of the international community by actively providing assistance in the event of natural disasters in Japan and abroad, as well as in conflict areas and developing countries, through the mutual utilization of human resources, funds, knowledge and experience held by Japanese NGOs, government agencies, companies, media, research institutions, etc.
Philippine Red Cross
Born officially in 1947, but with roots that traces back to the revolutionary days, the Philippine Red Cross has truly become the premier humanitarian organization in the country, committed to provide quality life-saving services that protect the life and dignity especially of indigent Filipinos in vulnerable situations.
Indonesian Red Cross Society (Palang Merah Indonesia - PMI)
Pan American Development Foundation (PADF)
We strive to reduce vulnerability, address immediate needs, and strengthen coping capabilities of vulnerable populations, especially those affected by natural hazards and complex humanitarian emergencies, as well as victims of gender-based violence, at-risk youth, migrants, minorities, LGBTQI+, rural communities, and others.
Habitat for Humanity: Disaster Response
Through Habitat’s Disaster Risk Reduction and Response program, and with the help of volunteers and donors like you, we are able to provide shelter assistance, education, training and partnerships to the affected individuals who find themselves in unthinkable situations.
Disaster Response: Our Approach
GlobalGiving makes it easy, quick, and safe to support local communities in the aftermath of disasters and humanitarian crises. Learn more about how you can help people in need right now.
Amity Foundation
Amity Foundation, an independent Chinese social organization, founded in 1985 on the initiative of Chinese Christians led by Bishop K.H. Ting and joined by people from all walks of society, works to promote education, public health, social welfare, community development, environmental protection, disaster relief and other philanthropic undertakings in China and other parts of the world. Amity projects have benefited more than ten million people at home and abroad.
The UN Refugee Agency
Emergency Handbook

Innovation and Equity Articles

Innovative Emergency Management and Response
Responding to emergencies quickly and efficiently is a challenge that communities have always faced. Public health leaders can create innovative emergency management strategies that incorporate advanced technology to increase the chance of an effective, efficient response, whatever the crisis.
How FEMA Can Prioritize Equity in Disaster Recovery Assistance
Current disaster recovery efforts in the United States exacerbate racial disparities, as people of color experience greater harms from natural disasters, receive less support, lose wealth, and take longer to recover.
Fascinating Disaster Relief Inventions for the Utah Environment
Do you consider yourself a survivalist or a “prepper?” If not, you might be surprised to learn that you already own one or more of these fascinating disaster-relief inventions.
When disaster strikes, innovation strikes back
The course of human history has been shaped by many different forces, from kings and empires, to wars and treaties, to science and technology. Frequently, however, the world has been changed—or, better yet, improved—by a single idea...
20 ways a portable shower can help in emergency situations
How can a portable shower help during a natural disaster? Check out this product information article to learn more.
Disaster Relief Water Filtration
Delivering Unrivaled Water Filtration Solutions for Disaster Relief Sector
HCLTech
10 technologies reducing the impact of natural disasters
5G drones to aid relief effort in bushfires, floods
How can drones help provide relief in natural disasters? Read on for some inpiration.
FloodX
Check out these amazing flood products. Can you design something similar to aid in a flood disaster?
DARAJA: The Inclusive City-Community Forecasting and Early Warning Service
Check out this project idea. Winner of the Workd Habitat Awards.

Natural Disasters

Japan In Crisis After Earthquake And Tsunami Devastates

Sandbags holding flooded Ohio River

Natural Disasters Information Collection: Each tab below contains articles, videos, images, and graphics to help you understand more about these forces of nature.

Avalanche Research Topic Collection
Contents: Gallery, Forecasting, Prevention and Safety, Rescue
Britannica Avalanche Resources Pack
Check out some Britannica School resources here!
National Geographic article: Avalanche
National Snow and Ice Data Center

What causes and avalanche?

Check out this video to learn how specialist predict when an avalanche can happen, what they do to decrease damage and how skiers can stay safe

Blizzards Research Topic Collection
Contents: Gallery, Severe Winter Weather, Notable Blizzards, Effects of Blizzards
Britannica Blizzards Resources Pack
Check out some Britannica School resources here!
Center for Science Education article: Blizzard
National Geographic article: Blizzard

Droughts Research Topic Collection
Contents: Gallery, Causes, Forecasting, Impacts
Britannica Droughts Resource Pack
Check out some Britannica School resources here!
Center for Science Education article: Droughts
National Geographic: Understanding Droughts

Watch this video from 2015 where South Africa faced one of the worst droughts. Think about some solutions, projects you can create to help the farmers. There is loss of cattle, and a big threat to food security.

Different types of droughts

Earthquakes Research Topic Collection
Contents: Gallery, Cause and Effect, Preparation and Prediction, Notable Earthquakes
Britannica Earthquake Resource Pack
Check out some Britannica School resources here!
National Geographic: Earthquakes
Wonderopolis: What is an Earthquake?

Earthquake: Seismic Waves

Britannica Famine Resources Pack
Check out some Britannica School resources here! Under the Ukraine article, you will find information on the THE FAMINE OF 1932–33 (HOLODOMOR)
Famine: What is the defition of Famine? What are the causes of Famine? Can Famine be prevented?
Gaza Famine Fears
National Geographic: Famine

Famine

Britannica Floods Resources Pack
Check out some Britannica School resources here!
Floods, explained
Floods Research Topic Collection
Contents: Gallery, Causes and Effects, Historic Floods, Flood Control
Yellow River flood, 1938-47

Netherlands: Delta Works flood-control project

Heatwaves Research Topic Collection
Contents: Gallery, Health Risks & Precautions, Impacts, Heat Waves & Climate Change, Notable Heat Waves
Britannica: Heat Wave
Video: Hazardous Heat Waves
Heat waves are abnormally hot weather that occurs over a few days to several weeks, and climate change is making them worse. Watch and find out why heat waves are a hazard and what you can do to stay safe when they happen.
Heat waves are getting worse. Here’s how to prepare.

Can you help improve India's next heat wave?

Hurricanes Research Topic Collection
Contents: Introduction, Forecasting and Research, 2017 Major Hurricanes, Historic Hurricanes
Britannica Hurricanes Resources Pack
Check out some Britannica School resources here!
National Geographic article: What are hurricanes?
Ten Facts about Hurricanes!

Know about the hurricanes, its formation, and the challenges in forecasting

Britannica Landslides Resources Pack
Check out some Britannica School resources here!
La Conchita Landslide (2005)
Landslides Research Topic Collection
Contents: Gallery, Causes, Prediction
National Geographic article: Landslides

When nature strikes: Landslides

This video provides a deep look into landslides, what can be done to predict them and more

What causes a landslide?

Britannica Mudslides Resources Pack
Landslides and Mudflows
Check out this information page on landslides and mudflows. There "Minimize home hazards," "Learn to recognize the landslide warning signs," "During a landslide," "After a landslide," sections can help you design a plan to tackle this natural disaster.
Mudslides wash out Los Angeles homes
Check out some Britannica School resources here!
Wonderopolis: What Causes Mudslides?

Watch this video, check out how quickly the mudflow takes over. What is something you can engineer to decrease damage, or even save lives?

Mudslides: How it happens!

Center for Science Education article: Tornadoes
National Geographic: What is a Tornado?
Tornado Research Topic Collection
Contents: Gallery, Columns of Violence, Graphics
Tornado Resources Pack
Check out some Britannica School resources here!

Tornadoes

Britannica Tsunami Resources Pack
Check out some Britannica School resources here!
Tsunami Research Topic Collection
Contents: Gallery, Historic Tsunamis, Characteristics, Forecasting, Preparedness
Tsunami VIDEOGRAPHIC
Check out this videographic on tsunami formation
Tsunamis: Warning system for the Mediterranean Sea
Check out this video! Think about the benefits of the warning system. Can you create your own warning system? What would it look like and how would it work?

This NatGeo video provides rarely caught Tsunami footage from land, ocean and aerial view. Watch how the ocean sweeps away the city, think about the different buildings' structure. What could you design to help this city in a future tsunami?